Season of Deceit

On sale Jan 2013!

by Michelle Akins
Brooks Mackenzie, noted architect from New York City, has returned to Thomasville, Georgia with two goals in mind—to build the grandest hotel of his career and to take down Duncan Jameson, the man he holds solely responsible for the death of his parents and the loss of his birthright.
Brooks isn’t prepared for the complications that ensue when he meets and becomes intrigued by Jameson’s spirited and beautiful step-daughter.
Cassie Johnston has lived her life amid the glorious surroundings of Four Oaks Plantation, trying to avoid the condescension and mistreatment at the hands of her stepfather, Duncan Jameson. Just months shy of her possible escape, Cassie finds herself blackmailed by her stepfather and uncle into agreeing to marry, Derrick, her disreputable step cousin, in order to secure her beloved brother’s future. Thrust into the social season to make her courtship with Derrick appear legitimate, Cassie enters society’s balls and cotillions, hoping for a way out before the nuptials take place. When she meets Brooks Mackenzie at one of Four Oaks’ famed hunts, she unknowingly becomes a pawn in two separate and dangerous games of revenge and financial gain.
Murder, intrigue, and desire alternately pull the hero and heroine together and propel them apart through a combination of misunderstandings, jealousies, and secrets.

Where to Buy

Watch Book Trailer

Writing Season of Deceit took a ton of research and support. Having grown up in Thomasville, Georgia, I only thought I knew its history. Thank goodness for the foresight of so many organizations in Thomasville that worked to preserve the landmarks and history of such a wonderful town!


Sign up for Michelle’s email list to receive exclusive information about Michelle and her upcoming books!